top of page
  • Writer's picture威 张

UCAS Report

Updated: Aug 11, 2019

This blog is about my UCAS application.

1. University choice

Before I chose university I looked what kind of university's course is suite for me, and I found these university's programme I'm interested which have good chance and challenge for my career and my design skill, and It a great opportunity for me.

Firstly, I have looked these university's website and read outline of the programme, like the course innovators of the future, the attractive reason of study this programme, and the most important career information, because I should have batter opportunity for find job or learning right ability for do my favourite things after my university study.


There are some part of my university chose mind map.

This is the main structure of my mind map.

Firstly, I was thinking Which part of Great Britain I want to go, and I found it is doesn't matter because I believe a best university course for me is my best wish. (every point can open it and show more information about the point I collected)


These are all name of programme and university in the below.

University of the Arts London(Central Saint Martins)-Product Design

Edinburgh-Product Design

Goldsmiths-Design

London College of Communication-BA (Hons) User Experience Design

Loughborough-User Centred Design BSc (Hons) DPS/DIntS degree


2. Personal Statement

I have thought my education and interested course in the essay, before I brainstorming them for my personal statement, which is working for show how do I thinking about my interesting course and my education and experience describe what kind of person that can develop a correct person in this course.

Because I'm a International student, I have to find my english tutor or other teacher who is english people check my english vocabulary and gramma is or not like a mother language writer, and it is really helpful, My english tutor Nikki and Petter checked my essay structure developed it to be more clear, and it's great before them rewrite my essay, even some sentences they don't understand what am I mean, but finally after my described then they got my idea.


then there is my Personal Statement.

The reason why I chose a design career is because of my study experience and personality which I feel make me suited for this program. When I was young, I had achievements in 5 different regional and national level awards from 2009 to 2016. During the period, I was twice one of only seven winners in a competition of about 400 people, and gained the qualifications for high schools in Hunan Province. My fast and eye-catching painting skills allow me to express my ideas clearly in my design studies. Since I started to connect with the process of design, I have been very interested in expanding my knowledge. It has been given me great confidence, from which I have found my career direction.

I have always surrounded myself with creative people who study art, which has made me have a deep understanding of media and art design. From this, I have learned a lot of artistic skills I have taken and edited a lot of short films,including one that contains a user experience device which lights up to reflect the mood of the user to passersby, which is about helping human communication disorders for people who have social barriers. In this period, I quickly mastered the skills of graphics and design software, including vector graphics AI, digital software such as Sketch, Photoshop and other software, and this also reflects my strong independent learning ability. I think this is very helpful for me to study in college.

When I was fifteen, I did a Mediterranean-style wall painting project in the exclusive design studio with some art students. Its success reflects my teamwork, social skills and painting skill. Later, my friends suggested we sold clothing and second-hand items during our leisure time, so I designed a website, and the electronic interface of the website logo and homepage interface was all done by me alone. Even though we did not earn much on the other hand, its success developed my skills of graphics and design software, and the website is still operated by my friends in China.

In my middle school, I always achieved more than 80% in every subject, and in the second term I designed the class uniform for all class member. I hand-painted each teacher and used software to have it printed on the uniform. At the graduation ceremony, the whole class wore the class uniform for a meaningful, unforgettable graduation photo. I didn’t finish my high school course, because in the final term I decided go to UK to develop my design ability and start my Foundation Diploma in Art and Design. It is giving me drawing practice and this is helping to extend my creative ability, and I am learning different approaches in design, which I am confident I will be able to apply as a designer.

The most profound thing in my influence was a BBC documentary Design Life. A crutch, designed to help the elderly with mobility problems attracted me. Research through the accidental inspiration to the design diagram finally made the model. I really like the problem-solving work. Simplifying complex designs and retaining functionality also incorporates aesthetics. I am interested in everyday products we use especially in user experience, and I designed a user service that was intended to help consumers find where to buy a product and the cheapest price, and make the process quick and straightforward and convenient for the shopper. My love of product design is on both the physical product and electronic level, and I pay great attention to how the user experience makes the design more humanized. This multi-disciplinary collaboration also incorporates modern science and aesthetics which I love. This is why I want to go to university to improve my skills.

During my free time I like to play the violin or go to the archery club with my friends. Sometimes I go to outdoor sketching. Both taught me the importance of precision, speed and helps to make me feel calm. I am looking forward to developing all my skills on my undergraduate course.


3. Application of University and Course on the UCAS education system

Firstly, I have write my personal detail showed my personal information about my name, home address, I don't need Student support , my nominated access is my tutor Laura Joy, and no disability, which all is my normal personal detail.


Secondly, I should upload my university choice before 15th of January,


11 views0 comments
bottom of page